Emily Bennett

To view the full review, please click on the book’s title.

Aquicorn Cove 

The author/illustrator of Tea Dragon Society and Princess Princess Ever After returns with Aquicorn Cove, a graphic novel that tells the story of Lana, a young girl grieving the loss of her mother who returns to the Island her family is from to help with relief efforts after a storm. While there, she discovers a magical community beneath the sea with mermaids and magical seahorse-like creatures called aquicorns. 


The Legend of Brightblade

The Legend of Brightblade tells the story of Prince Alto whose mother was once a great hero. He dreams of following in her footsteps and having heroic adventures of his own using bardic magic, but his mother insists that he stay in the castle and fulfill his duties as a prince. 


Mama and Mommy and Me in the Middle

“Mama and Mommy and Me in the Middle” is about a little girl who misses her mommy. Her favorite thing is to be in between her mama and her mommy but when her mommy leaves for a business trip, nothing is the same. The little girl and her mama work together through the week to adjust to life as they miss mommy, and concoct the perfect plan to welcome mommy home at the end of the week.


Swan Lake: Quest for the Kingdoms

“Swan Lake: Quest for The Kingdoms” is a fast-paced graphic novel retelling of the classic “Swan Lake” with much to keep the attention of reluctant readers. With sword fights, dance breaks, humor, and an animal companion similar to a bear, this book will appeal to a wide range of readers. The quick pacing and mix of tough action with elegant ballet scenes will also help to capture the full attention of any who open this book