7th Annual Mock Caldecott

The 7th annual Mock Caldecott was hosted virtually by the RCLC on Friday, January 22, 2021. The 24 participants included six current KSU faculty members and a special guest speaker, Dr. Christina Dorr, who had served on a previous Caldecott Committee. The event saw several returning participants from over the past years who offered valuable insight to the night’s discussion. 

Dr. Dorr offered a unique opportunity for the participants to learn what it was like serving on the Caldecott Committee, discussing not only the process of choosing the Caldecott winner and honors but also the journey to the committee. Throughout the night’s discussion, her insight and experience helped to further the participant’s understanding of the Caldecott criteria and how it is applied to picturebooks. 

Participants, guided by faculty members, looked at each book and debated why it should or should not be the night’s winner. Discussions began with the positives of each book and then moved into the negatives until each participant was ready to vote on the picturebook they believed was the best. 

After voting twice, the 24 participants chose one winner and four honor books:



We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom and illustrated by Michaela Goade



The Old Truck by Jerome Pumphrey and Jarrett Pumphrey 

I Am Every Good Thing written by Derrick Barnes and illustrated by Gordon C. James

Lift written by Minh Lê and illustrated by Dan Santat

Nesting written by Henry Cole

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *